|| Shri Guru Basavalingaya Nama || Basava Dharma
Chakras (Vegetative nervous system)
Basava Dharma  
Economic Reforms
:: Chakras
Sri Basaveshwar  

Chennabasavanna and his contemporaries under the guidance ofBasavanna, discussed about human anatomy and physiology. Chennabasavanna deals with it in detail in his Karana Hasige. The Chakras (nerve plexus) are the basis of our study of human anatomy and physiology. They have detected the' Bioplasmic energy' and mapped out in detail exact flow of current in the body. They have named nine chakras, which are the centres of energy. A brief account of them is given here. Chakra literally means ' wheel'. Chakras are the nerve centres offeree and consciousness. They correspond to nerve plexus, ganglion, glands of physical body. The chakras arc subtle, our insight or our intuition enables us to experience them. Each chakra controls particular field of activity and the component factors of the body. Each chakra is related to a certain endocrine gland. The chakras control the operation of the body and mind by means of hormones. Like the higher glands controlling the lower glands, the higher chakras control the lower chakras.

Sharanas discuss about three portions of the brain in detail. They call cerebral cortex by the name Brahmarandhra. It consists of thousands of petals or groups of nerves. It is a part of the intellectual aspect of God who dwells in the form ofJeeva (self). This Jeeva is cal\edNishkala Linga. The central portion of the brain is called Sikhachakra. This consists of three groups of nerves (Lymbic system). In this part, Prana or life breath dwells and is called Shoonya linga. The hind part of the brain is called Paschimachakra which consists of a single nerve (Pineal body ). In this part self-luminous Soul dwells and is called Niranjana Linga. Just below this part, spinal cord begins. Further sharanas divided the nervous system of the entire body into six parts as shown below.
1. Middle of eyebrow: The nerve ending in the middle of eye brow is caUedAjna chakra. This operates as an efferent nerve in communicating the commands of the brain to different sense organs.

2. Neck: The neck contains Vishuddhi chakra or nerve wherein lies Ether (Akash) principle which is related to thyroid and parathyroid glands. It enables one to create sound.

3. Heart: In the heart, the Anahata chakra is situated, wherein lies the Airy (Vayu) principle which helps to purify blood, and then to send it to different parts of the body.

4. Navel: The naval contains Manipuraka chakra wherein lies Fiery (Agni) principle. It controls heat energy, and digestion. It is related to pancreas and adrenal glands.

5. The genital organ: The genital organ contains Swadhisthana
chakra wherein lies the principle of Water (Appu). It controls the liquid factors of the body. It is related to sexual glands and the body's sexual function.

6. Excreting organ: Excreting organ contains Adhara chakra wherein lies the principle of Earth (Pruthvi) located near the base of the body at the end of spinal cord. It controls solid factors of the body and is directly related to the excretory functions.



Website developed & maintained by Sandeep R.Magavi
Home Page Contact Details